Close this search box.
Close this search box.

Awards Evening

Thank you to everyone who came to the Awards Evening last night and everyone who helped make it possible.

There were a multitude of awards handed out – for anyone who wasn’t there or maybe had a few too many drinks to remember, the winners for 2015-2016 are listed below.

Firstly some “less serious” awards were handed out to several club members who had made themselves noticed, in one way or another…

Biggest Moaner
Cathy Carey

Most Accident Prone
Jane Jackson

Most Talkative
Karen Vallance (retaining the title)

Best Looper
Mike Baker

Following these came the main awards…

Newcomer of the Year
Lucy Brint

Most Improved of the Year
Jackie Dawes
Mike Westland

Coach of the Year
Mags Jarvis
Jeremy Tandy

Hardest Trainer of the Year
Lucy Marrison
Stuart May

Highest Achiever of the Year
Katie Littlejohns
Roger Voaden

Marilyn Cooper Memorial Cup
Anne Binns
This new trophy was presented by Paul and son Peter, which Paul had very generously donated in Marilyn’s memory. It had been decided by the committee that this would be awarded to the female who had raced the most miles in a year, a very fitting category as Marilyn had been such a prolific racer herself.

Club Member of the Year
Marilyn Cooper
Club chairman Tim Watson presented Paul with a Dartington Crystal vase engraved with “In Loving Memory of Marilyn from Okehampton Running Club” in honour and memory of Marilyn.

A huge well done to everyone and those who achieved times for their club awards certificate. The club award scheme started fresh for the 2016-2017 period in April so the perfect excuse to go out and see what you can do (if you needed one!)

Lastly, there is a new page on the website where you can look back on the previous winners of the awards – you can find that here.